About YCN Points

About the Team | About Ballroom | About Our Coaches | About YCN Points

Please note: Beginning in 2018, MITBDT has implemented a single-ladder system for YCN points. We hope the system provides more consistent integration of the Novice level, as it becomes more commonly offered at collegiate competitions. This system may be further refined in the future.

For a description of the old multi-ladder system, see here.


The single-ladder YCN system recognizes seven consecutive levels, in increasing order of proficiency: Pre-Bronze, Bronze, Silver, Gold, Novice, Pre-Championship, and Championship.

Placing in the final of a level earns you points simultaneously in that level and the levels below it. Once you earn 7 or more points in a level, you can no longer dance at that level.

Events qualify only if there was at least a semi-final danced. Points are earned as follows:

  • At the level you danced:
    • 3 points for 1st place
    • 2 points for 2nd place
    • 1 point for 3rd place
    • If there was a quarter-final danced, 1 point for 4th–6th place
  • At the level below the one you danced:
    • 6 points for 1st place
    • 4 points for 2nd place
    • 2 points for 3rd place
    • If there was a quarter-final danced, 2 points for 4th–6th place
  • At all levels below that:
    • 7 points for 1st–6th place
  • No points are awarded for placing 7th or 8th in a final.

Multi-Dance Events

In multi-dance events, points are earned for each dance according to the combined placement. For example, if you place 3rd in a Silver Samba/Jive event, you earn points for placing 3rd in Silver Samba and 3rd in Silver Jive, even if the actual separate placement was different (say, 2nd and 4th).

Combined-Level Events

  • Points for “Syllabus” (i.e. merged Bronze/Silver/Gold) events are awarded at the Bronze level.
  • Points for “Open” (i.e. merged Novice/Pre-Champ/Champ) events are awarded at the Pre-Champ level. (This definition is currently used to provide continuity with the dual-ladder YCN point system, but may be modified in the future.)
  • Points for “Master of Syllabus” (i.e. an event that may include competitors who have placed out of Gold, but that is restricted to syllabus figures) are awarded at the Gold level.


  • Placing 3rd in a Silver International Cha Cha event with a semi-final round will give you 1 point in Silver International Cha Cha and 2 points in Bronze International Cha Cha.
  • Placing 5th in Bronze American Waltz will give you no points if there was only a final or semi-final and 1 point in Bronze American Waltz if there was a quarter-final.
  • Placing 2nd in Gold American Bolero with a quarter-final round will give you 2 points in Gold American Bolero, 4 points in Silver, and 7 points in Bronze (thus automatically eliminating you from any Bronze American Bolero events).


  • Points are awarded to each member of the couple, and couples must always dance to the higher level of the two competitors.
  • Please determine your YCN points, treating adult amateur events from all professionally-judged competitions (including USA Dance or NDCA competitions) the same as collegiate competitions. Points from competitions without professional judging (e.g. Harvard Beginners and BAM JAM), and points from age categories other than “Adult Amateur” do not count toward your total for any proficiency level at the MIT Open.
  • There are no YCN eligibility restrictions for dancing at the Open or Championship levels.
  • In addition to the YCN points described on this page, your eligibility for a particular level may be limited by additional registration rules, such as Newcomer and Bronze time-out rules, adjacent level rules, or double-registration restrictions.

Note that at the MIT Open competition, Newcomer is equivalent to Pre-Bronze, Beginner is equivalent to Bronze; Intermediate is equivalent to Silver; and Advanced is equivalent to Gold.

If you have any questions regarding the application of the single-ladder YCN proficiency points system, please contact our competition coordinator, mitbdt-comp-coord@mit.edu.